Aside

Positive Thoughts


I have one friend who is even more metacognitive than I am. Our conversations are a bit scary.

The other day she made a comment about something negative in her life. The she looked at me and pounded her fist on the table. “No, I’m done complaining, things are not worth complaining about, and there are so many people worse off than me.”

Complaining is something everyone does, but nobody really respects it when they witness it from another person:

Person A: “I just hate the wall color, and the food. This restaurant is awful. My outfit is all wrong.”

Person B: “You’re my best friend.”

It just doesn’t work that way.

We started to talk even more though. What about when two people are mutually complaining?

How many times do you see this conversation between two people?

Person A: I hate this class, there is so much work.

Person B: I know, I can never keep up.

Person A: Yeah, I had no idea how to do the reading, AND my roommate last night was so loud…

These two people bonded over something negative. They were both complaining, and somehow they forged a relationship out of it. But then I thought about it, is that the type of relationship I want?

Of my friends, the ones I treasure the most are the ones who are positive and push me forward. The ones who look for things to smile about and generally find things to smile about me. It’s something so small, but can characterize an entire relationship.

It’s a small thought of the day, I guess just to always look for the glass half full

Leave a comment