Drowning in Blank Boxes


Sunday rolls around (because CLEARLY there has been no productivity all weekend) and it’s time to do work. But wait. First have to check Facebook for any shenanigans that has occurred over the weekend (there is always something). Collect materials to study. Sit down and start. Oh no, forgot the tea. So get up, make tea. Find a snack while in the kitchen. Sit back down.

Now what to do? Normally there’s some more Facebook. Maybe check the news – current events is productive right? Finally my roommate comes in and names me the best procrastinator ever (which isn’t true. There are so many others better than I).

Image

FINE, maybe I am procrastinating. I GUESS I’ll make a to do list then. Then I’ll know what I have to do! But it can’t just be notebook paper, that’s ugly. So I get up, find a sheet of colored paper, my markers, stickers, and other art supplies that always come in my Mammaw’s care packages (see, they ARE appreciated). Then I open up my Google Calendar and start to figure out my tasks for the week, listing them in pretty handwriting (alternating colors OF COURSE). Normally I end up with a pretty list to carry me through the week!

I even spend some time finding a nice quote to keep me upbeat and positive.

Image

Isn’t that nice?

But THIS week.

Image

Note the post-its ^

This week is my semester finals. So I picked a pretty yellow sheet of paper to make my to do list. But here’s the issue, I ran out of room on my to do list and had to start adding post it addendums. And the worst part? The addendums kept adding faster than they got checked off. There was a point where I thought I would drown in blank check boxes.

I think I dreamt that black pens all ran away from me so I could NEVER check the items off, and the blank boxes just kept spawning and spawning.

I hate that word, spawning. Only ugly things spawn.

All I know is my brain now equates yellow as a color of rage. It is no longer bright and sunshiny and happy.

* * *

In this moment of anger at the to do lists, I think I’ll take a step back and end this on a positive note. You know that beautiful thing when you are in a mood and JUST the right song comes on to make you feel better?

That happened this morning, and I think it just about kept me from jumping off a to do list cliff. I got a reminder that an end is in sight and Santa Clause is in my future!

So for everyone doing finals right now, here’s to you!

Just let Gary Allen sing you comforting lyrics.

2 responses to “Drowning in Blank Boxes

  1. I think the funniest part of this blog is that “oh, no, I forgot the tea”. Does not get changed. This 5 words do not equate.

  2. I noticed that too! No equivalent.

Leave a comment